top of page

The Carrez law

"This law of December 18, 1996, integrated into article 46 of  the law of July 10, 1965, obliges the seller of a lot in co-ownership, since the lot is at least equal to 8m², to be mentioned in the preliminary contract and the notarial deed of sale, the area of its private part. Only " " is taken into account the area of the floors and the enclosed and covered premises after deduction of the surfaces occupied by the walls, partitions, steps and stairwells, shafts and door and window embrasures". This calculation does not include the "additional co-ownership lots. (Cellars, balconies, terraces, garages, etc. .) nor rooms whose height is less than 1.80 m.
The law does not require the intervention of an expert because the seller can calculate this area himself. If the preliminary contract and the notarized deed of sale do not mention this area, the purchaser may request the cancellation of the sale before the TGI if it is at the latest on the expiry of a period of one month from the authentic deed of sale. If the actual area is greater than that mentioned in the deed,  the seller is not entitled to claim an additional price.

But if the actual surface area is inférieure de more than 1/20th, i.e. 5% to that indicated in the deed, the purchaser may sue in front of the TGI an action of reduction of the price proportional to the missing square meters. He must act within one year of the authentic deed of sale.
The Carrez law surface area does not apply to sales of individual houses or to sales of housing in the future state of completion. It also does not apply to leave for sale issued by the lessor owner to his tenant in application of article 15 of the law July 1989."



Article extracted from the essentials of real estate law 2012-2013, written by Pascale Clerc-Foechterlin   and published by Gualino editions.

GZN DESIGN
bottom of page

La loi Carrez

"Cette loi du 18 Décembre 1996, intégrée dans l’article 46 de  la loi du 10 juillet 1965, oblige le vendeur d’un lot en copropriété, dès lors que le lot est au moins égal à 8m², à mentionner dans l’avant contrat et l’acte de vente notarié, la superficie de sa partie privative. Seule est prise en compte «  la superficie des planchers et des locaux clos et couverts après déduction des surfaces occupées par les murs, cloisons, marches et cages d’escaliers, gaines et embrasures de portes et de fenêtre ». N’entrent pas dans ce calcul les « lots de copropriété annexes. (Caves, balcons, terrasses, garages etc.) ni les pièces dont la hauteur est inférieure à 1,80 m.
La loi n’exige pas l’intervention d’un expert car le vendeur peut calculer cette surface lui-même. Si l’avant contrat et l’acte de vente notarié ne mentionnent pas cette surface, l’acquéreur peut demander l’annulation de la vente devant le TGI s’il s’agit au plus tard à l’expiration d’un délai d’un mois à compter de l’acte authentique de vente. Si la superficie réelle est supérieure à celle mentionnée dans l’acte,  le vendeur n’a pas le droit de réclamer un supplément de prix.

Mais si la superficie réelle est inférieure de plus de 1/20 e c'est-à-dire 5% à celle indiquée dans l’acte, l’acquéreur peut intenter devant le TGI une action de diminution du prix proportionnelle aux mètres carrés manquants. Il doit agir dans un délai d’un an à compter de l’acte authentique de vente.
La superficie loi Carrez ne s’applique pas aux ventes de maisons individuelles ni aux ventes de logements en l’état futur d’achèvement. Elle ne s’applique pas non plus aux congés pour vente délivrés par le propriétaire bailleur à son locataire en l’application de l’article 15 de la loi  du 6  Juillet 1989."



Article extrait de l’essentiel du droit Immobilier 2012-2013, écrit par Pascale Clerc- Foechterlin   et publié aux éditions Gualino.

 

 

 

Email: gozlan.elie@gmail.com

 © Copyright GZN DESIGN- Tous droits réservés / All rights reserved. GZN DESIGN marque déposée à L'INPI

 

 

    

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Twitter Round
  • Black Instagram Icon